You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Notification for Ph 6 of LS polls issued

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

The Tuesday issued notification for the sixth and penultimate phase of elections to be held on May 12 in 59 seats across seven states.

The seven-phase elections began on April 11 and will end on May 19. Uttar Pradesh, and will head for voting in all the seven phases of the

All the seven seats in will also go for polling in the sixth phase.

Amid sparring between and convenor on Twitter, sources claimed the two sides were "engaged" in taking the alliance talks forward and are likely to meet again on Wednesday over seat sharing between the two.

The said his party is willing to give four of the seven seats in to the to ensure that their alliance defeats the BJP, which had won all the seven seats in 2014.

The has offered the 4:3 seat-sharing formula, four seats for the ruling party and three seats for itself.

The arrangement has been arrived at on basis of the vote share of both parties in 2017 civic polls here.

The election will pit the BJP-led against mostly different opposition groupings in various states, including of Congress, the Left and regional forces which are continuing to work out a grand alliance to minimise a division of votes against the saffron party.

The BJP has worked out a seat-sharing formula with some new allies and several old partners. However, opposition parties are yet to do so in several states.

With the issuance of notification, the process of filing nominations has begun. The last date of filing nominations is April 24, while scrutiny will take place on on April 24. The last date of is April 26.

The poll for the sixth phase will be held on May 12.

Some of the constituencies gong to poll are: Valmiki Nagar, Paschim Champaran, Purvi Champaran, Sheohar, Vaishali, Gopalganj, Siwan and Maharajganj in

In Uttar Pradesh, Sultanpur, Pratapgarh, Phulpur, Allahabad, Ambedkar Nagar, Shrawasti, Domariyaganj, Basti, Sant Kabir Nagar, Lalganj, Azamgarh, Jaunpur, Machhlishahr and Bhadohi are going for polls.

Like Delhi, Lok Sabha elections will be held in a single phase in also.

Tikamgarh, Damoh, Khajuraho, Chhindwara and Hoshangabad in will also go for elections in the sixth phase.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, April 16 2019. 15:10 IST