You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Parties claim good show in first phase polls in Odisha

Press Trust of India  |  Bhubaneswar 

With completion of polling for four and 28 assembly constituencies of Odisha in the first phase, major political parties Thursday exuded confidence about having "performed well" in the elections.

While thanking the voters of the four constituencies of Berhampur, Koraput, Kalahandi and Nabarangpur, ruling and Odisha Chief Minister claimed his party candidates have "performed very well" in the polls held on Thursday.

"I expect, the results to be better than the 2014 polls," Patnaik told reporters.

BJP Odisha in-charge also made similar claims and said his party would win the elections in Odisha with two-third majority in the state assembly.

said: "The candidates will win 18 out of the 28 assembly seats where polling was held on Thursday.

In 2014 elections, BJD had won all the four seats - Berhampur, Nabarngpur, Kalahandi and Koraput.

Of the 28 assembly segments where polling was also held in the first phase Thursday, the ruling BJD had 20 MLAs while six candidates won in the 2014 assembly elections. BJP had only two MLAs.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, April 11 2019. 22:25 IST