Business Standard

Pawar, Uddhav, Irani vote in Mumbai


Press Trust of India Mumbai
NCP president Sharad Pawar, Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray and Union minister Smriti Irani were prominent among the political leaders who voted in Mumbai Monday.
Polling is being held for 17 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra, including six in the country's financial capital, on Monday.
MNS president Raj Thackeray and his wife Sharmila had to wait for more than an hour at a polling centre in Shivaji Park area to cast their votes.
In Powai, at S M Shetty school polling centre, a 1.5 km long queue formed as soon as the polling began.
Uddhav Thackeray, his wife Rashmi and son Aaditya cast their votes at a municipal school in Bandra East.
Pawar was accompanied by his son-in-law Sadanand Sule and grand-daughter Revati Sule at the polling centre at a school at Tardeo.
Irani, who is the BJP candidate against Congress president Rahul Gandhi in Amethi in Uttar Pradesh, also cast her vote in Mumbai.
"Participated in the biggest festival of democracy. Cast my vote in Mumbai for a strong, secular and developed India," she tweeted.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Apr 29 2019 | 3:45 PM IST

Explore News