You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Prithvi Shaw to lead India in 2018 U-19 World Cup

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Promising batsman Prithvi Shaw will lead a 16-member Indian team in next year's U-19 Cricket World Cup, the said today.

"The All-Junior Selection Committee has picked the U19 team for the U19 Cricket World Cup 2018. The 16 -team event will be held in from 13th January to 3rd February 2018," acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary said in a release.

Last edition's runners-up have won the U-19 World Cup title thrice in 2000, 2008 and 2012. India lost in the final against the in last year.

India are the joint-most successful team in the history of the tournament along with (1988, 2002 & 2010).

As part of India's preparation for the coveted tournament, a camp will be held in starting on Friday.

"A preparatory camp will be held in from Dec 8 -22, 2017," Choudhary said.

"Mumbai's Shaw and Bengal's Porel have been permitted to join their respective sides for the quarterfinal stage and will join the camp on 12th December."

The India U-19 team:

Prithvi Shaw (Captain), Shubman Gill (vice-captain), Manjot Kalra, Himanshu Rana, Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, Aryan Juyal (wicket-keeper), Harvik Desai (wicket-keeper), Shivam Mavi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Ishan Porel, Arshdeep Singh, Anukul Roy, Shiva Singh, Pankaj Yadav.

The list of standby players: Om Bhosle, Rahul Chahar, Ninad Rathva, Urvil Patel and Aditya Thakare.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, December 03 2017. 15:40 IST