You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Ridhima completes start-to-finish win, becomes first multiple winner in 2019

Press Trust of India  |  Greater Noida 

Ridhima Dilawari became the first multiple winner of the year as she completed a start-to-finish win in the sixth leg of the Hero Women's Pro at the Jaypee Greens here Friday.

The 20-year-old Ridhima, who has been in great form, shot a third successive under par round of three-under 69 to get to 10-under 206.

That gave Ridhima a win by a whopping 10 shots, which was the second biggest victory margin after Tvesa Malik's 15-shot win in the third leg earlier in the season.

It was also the first time this year that any had shot three straight rounds in under-par scores.

Last week's winner Gaurika Bishnoi added a second successive 73 to reach 216 and finish second to keep up the momentum.

This was the second time in the season that Ridhima had won ahead of Gaurika. This was Ridhima's second win in three starts.

Amandeep Drall, after two average rounds of 73-75, shot three-under 69, which equaled the best card of the final day, to finish a close third at 217.

Amateur Anika Varma showed the strength in Indian women's amateur section and finished fourth despite a disappointing 77 on the final day.

Siddhi Kapoor (74) was fifth at 220, while another amateur Asmitha Sathish (73) was sixth at 223. (78) fumbled on the final day and ended seventh at 225.

Neha Tripathi (72), who had an eagle-two on Par-4 seventh hole, was tied eighth with Ananya Datar (76), while (76) and yet another amateur Nayanika Sanga (77) were tied for the 10th place.

Neha Tripathi leads on the Hero Order of Merit with earnings of Rs 5,03,800, and is followed by Gaurika with Rs 4,72,800.

Lying third is Gursimar Badwal, who on Friday ended tied 12th. Gursimar has Rs 4,32,400 and Amandeep Drall with Rs 4,24,000 is fourth.

Ridhima moves up to fifth pot with earnings of Rs 3,36,400, which includes two winners' cheques.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, March 15 2019. 18:40 IST