You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Sivan K to succeed Kiran Kumar as ISRO chairman

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Noted K was today appointed as the of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) to replace A S

The announcement comes two days ahead of the proposed historic launch of the ISRO's along with 30 others in a single mission from Sriharikota.

The of the Cabinet approved Sivan's appointment as secretary, and of for a tenure of three years, an order issued by the personnel ministry said.

Sivan, at present of Space Centre, will succeed Kumar who took over as ISRO on January 12, 2015.

graduated from Madras in aeronautical engineering in 1980 and completed Master of Engineering in Aerospace engineering from IISc, in 1982, according to his biodata.

Subsequently, he completed his PhD in Aerospace engineering from IIT, in 2006.

joined the ISRO in 1982 in Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) project and has contributed immensely towards end to end mission planning, mission design, mission integration and analysis.

He held various responsibilities during his stint in ISRO.

Sivan has numerous publications in various journals and is a fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering, and

He has received various awards throughout his career which includes Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Sathyabama University, Chennai in April 2014 and Shri Hari Om Ashram Prerit Dr Research award for 1999.

The ISRO is scheduled to launch the mission after the unsuccessful launch of IRNSS-1H in August last year.

"The 31 spacecrafts, including weather observation Cartosat-2 series satellite, will be launched by PSLV-C40," (ISAC) M Annadurai had said yesterday.

When the is ejected out it will become the hundredth satellite," he said.

PSLV-C40 will launch the 710 kg Cartosat-2 series satellite for earth observation and 30 co-passengers(together weighing about 613 kg) at lift-off on January 12 at09.28 am, ISRO said.

It will be launched from the first launch pad ofthe Space Centre at Sriharikota, about 100 km from Chennai.

The co-passenger satellites include one micro and nano satellite each from Three micro and 25 nano satellites from six countries namely Canada, Finland, France, Republic of Korea, the UK and the US, make up the other payload.

On August 31, to launch its backup navigation satellite IRNSS-1H on board PSLV-C39 failed after a technical fault on the final leg following a perfect launch.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, January 10 2018. 19:05 IST