You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Six sacked Trinamool Congress MLAs join BJP in Tripura

Press Trust of India  |  Agartala 

Six MLAs, who were earlier sacked by the and who had voted for nominee Ram Nath Kovind in the July 17 presidential election, today formally joined the

The six legislators, led by former leader of the opposition (Congress) in the Assembly Burman, were welcomed into the saffron party by Union minister Dharmendra Pradhan, the party's North-East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) convener Himanta Biswa Sarma, state chief Biplab Kumar Deb and state party observer Sunil Deodhar.

Besides Roy Burman, the other MLAs are Ashish Kumar Saha, Diba Chandra Hrangkhawl, Biswa Bandhu Sen, Pranjit Singha Roy and Dilip Sarkar.

The MLAs had president in on August 5.

On July 3, TMC secretary general Partha Chatterjee had said the party would have no relations with the six MLAs.

The six legislators had quit the and joined the TMC in protest against the Congress' electoral tie-up with the Left, ahead of the 2016 Assembly

In the run-up to the presidential poll, the MLAs had announced that they would not vote for a candidate supported by the CPI(M) and were sacked by the TMC.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, August 07 2017. 19:07 IST