You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

TDP candidates file nominations RS elections

Press Trust of India  |  Amaravati 

candidates C M and Kanakamedala Ravindra Kumar today filed their nominations for the election to two Rajya Sabha seats from

They filed their nominations before Returning K Satyanarayana Rao in the state legislature, hours before the nomination process drew to a close.

Earlier, the two candidates met the and party chief, N Chandrababu Naidu, and expressed gratitude for choosing them.

A businessman and party financier, is currently a member of the Upper House, representing Telangana since the state bifurcation. He is due to retire on April 2 after completing his first term of six years.

Despite initial talk in the party that may not get a second term, Naidu chose to renominate him, given the various (financial) equations, party sources averred.

On the other hand, Ravindra Kumar will be making his debut in public life after having served TDP for about three decades.

A senior lawyer in the high court, Kumar heads the TDP's legal cell and had appeared for Naidu in various cases filed by the then chief minister,

"We need a person like Ravindra Kumar to fight legal cases on implementation of the promises made in the AP Reorganisation Act, 2014. He has been a for many years, and hence, been rewarded with a Rajya Sabha seat," Naidu said.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, March 12 2018. 15:00 IST