You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

UP LS bypolls: BJP trails Gorakhpur, Phulpur

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

Candidates of the ruling BJP were trailing in and constituencies in after several rounds of counting for the parliamentary by-elections, officials said.

In the prestigious seat, the bastion of Yogi Adityanath, BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla was trailing behind of the by a margin of 10,598 votes.

district Rajeev Rautela, who is also the returning officer, announced the margin after the eighth round of counting.

In Phulpur, candidate increased his lead by 15,713 votes after 11th round of counting, officials said.

The candidate was leading over BJP candidate Kaushalendra Patel, while independent was at the third spot.

The trends had an echo in the Assembly, when the of the Opposition pointed out to the that mediapersons were being barred from entering the counting centre in Gorakhpur, and described it as "murder of democracy".

Amid uproarious scenes created by a jubilant SP members, adjourned the House briefly.

Gorakhpur DM Rautela, however, said that there was no such bar on the entry of media at the counting centre.

Ten nominees are in the fray from Gorakhpur, while 22 candidates contested from

The bypolls were necessitated after Adityanath and his Deputy vacated the Gorakhpur and seats respectively, following their election to the

Gorakhpur is significant for the BJP with Adityanath representing the seat in the Lok Sabha five times. Before him, his mentor was from the seat.

Phulpur, once represented by the country's Jawaharlal Nehru, witnessed a saffron surge in the 2014 Lok Sabha election when Maurya won the seat.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, March 14 2018. 13:15 IST