You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Andhra, Mumbai qualify for knockouts with

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

and posted wins over and today to qualify for the national knockout phase of the from Group 'C' here.

While trounced by nine wickets to notch up its fifth straight victory, won its fourth game to make sure of advancing.

K S Bharat with an unbeaten 106 (132 balls, 4X4, 4X6) and (99, 108 balls, 11X4, 2X6) helped steamroll reaching the target of 251 in 45.2 overs.

Meanwhile, rode on half-centuries by Surya Kumar Yadav (71), Prithvi Shaw (53) and (59) to post a four-wicket win over

Chasing Goa's score of 266 for 8, Mumbai secured the win in the 47th over as the top-order got going.

Shaw,who led to a memorable triumph in the under-19 in recently, put Mumbai on track with a well crafted half century.

He was involved in two important partnerships, first with for 64 runs and then with Surya Kumar Yadav (90 runs).

The young right-hander hit six fours and a six in his innings of 53.

Yadav then forged a 52-run stand with Tare, who scored an almost run-a-ball 50.

Earlier, identical scores of 56 by former star Swapnil Asnodkar and Suyash S Prabhudessai helped make 266 in 50 overs.

In the day's other match, Team thumped Madhya Pradesh by seven wickets.

Brief scores: Gujarat 250 all out in 50 overs (R H Bhatt 74, Piysh Chawla 56, Parthiv Patel 39, I Karthik Raman 4 for 32) lost to Andhra 251 for 1 in 45.2 overs (K S Bharat 101 not out, 99).

Points: Andhra: 4 (20); Gujarat 0 (4).

Goa 266 for 8 in 50 overs (Swapnil Asnodkar 56, Suyash Prabhudessai 56, 34, Dhrumil Matkar 3 for 49) lost to Mumbai 267 for 6 in 46.3 overs (Surya Kumar Yadav 71, 59, Prithvi Shaw 53, Lakshay Garg 3 for 52).

Points: Mumbai: 4 (16); Goa: 0 (8).

241 for 9 in 50 overs (Harpreet Singh Bhatia 55, 51, Ankit Sharma 65, 3 for 51) lost to Team 245 for 3 in 47.2 overs (Aditya Garhwal 108 (108 balls, 7X4, 2X6), Mahipal Lomror 51 not out).

Points: Rajasthan: 4 (8); Madhya Pradesh: 0 (12).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, February 12 2018. 18:50 IST