You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Zaheer, Munaf among Indian cricketers for T10 League

Press Trust of India  |  Dubai 

Former pace spearhead Khan, Patel and Kumar are among a few well-known Indian cricketers picked to play for respective franchises in the upcoming League in the UAE.

Bengal Tigers picked up while Punjabi Legends opted for at a draw for eight Indian cricketers. The League that takes place at the Sharjah Stadium from November 21 to December 2.

S Badrinath will play for Maratha Arabians while last year's champions Kerala Kings have picked Reetinder Singh Sodhi to brighten their chances.

Pakhtoons selected R P Singh while Rajputs picked up at the draw. Newcomers Karachians picked up Pravin Tambe, while Northern Warriors have opted for Amitoze Singh.

Khan, who took 311 wickets in Test cricket, 282 in one-day internationals and 17 T20 wickets in a career spanning 14 years, leads the pack among Indian players.

Shaji Ul Mulk, of League, said, "The inclusion of some of the most prominent Indian cricketers in the T10 League, will help us to popularise the ten-over format that concludes in 90 minutes.

"The forthcoming will demonstrate the games growing popularity and I am happy to see the way things are progressing so far.

"From a four-day event, the T10 League will now run for 12 days that will attract a larger audience at the stadium and beyond through the television channels."

T10 League, the world's first 10-over international professional league that is licensed by (ECB), has recently appointed as its broadcast partners for South Asia, and for three years.

The 2018 edition will have 29 matches as compared to a four-day event last year.

Eight teams Kerala Kings, Punjab Legends, Maratha Arabians, Bengal Tigers, The Karachians, Rajputs, Northern Warriors and Pakhtoons have been drawn in to two groups to fight it out in the second season.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, November 05 2018. 17:05 IST