You are here: Home » Sports » IPL 2020 » News

IPL 2020, SRH vs KKR highlights: Gill's unbeaten 70 helps KKR beat SRH

After SRH dragged themselves to 142/4 wickets in 20 overs, KKR finished at 145/3 in 18 overs.

Kolkata Knight Riders | Sunrisers Hyderabad | IPL Champions

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


In Match 8 of IPL 2020, opener Shubhman Gill's unbeaten 70-run knock along with Eoin Morgan's 42 not out guided (KKR) to its first win this season as Dinesh Karthik's side outsmarted (SRH) by seven wickets with two overs to spare at Sheikh Zayed Stadiu, Abu Dhabi on Saturday.

Check 2020 IPL points table and team standings here

Chasing a modest 143-run, KKR, baring few hiccups, overhauled the target comfortably, thanks to the unbeaten knocks by Gill and Morgan. After SRH dragged themselves to 142/4 wickets in 20 overs, KKR finished at 145/3 in 18 overs.

KKR bowlers, too, were clinical with the ball as they restricted SRH to a modest total, before Gill's heroics in the middle. Pat Cummins, who drew a lot of criticism after his poor show in the previous match, made a great comeback as he conceded just 19 runs from four overs and picked up one wicket.

The other KKR bowlers also remained economical and the entire KKR side clicked together as a unit.

Despite losing opener Sunil Narine, who fell without troubling the scorers, early, young opener Gill ensured his side cross the line with ease as he kept the fight on.

For the second wicket, Nitish Rana (26) and Gill added 37 runs before the former became a victim of T. Natarajan in the fifth over with KKR being reduced to 43/2.

Check Match 9, RR vs KXIP playing 11 prediction and head to head here

As KKR managed another 10 runs, Afghan spin sensation struck as he trapped KKR skipper Dinesh Karthik before the wickets with KKR scorecard reading 53/3. The tumbling of wickets hardly affected Pandey, who continued to rotate the strike and forged a crucial 92-run unbeaten partnership with Eoin Morgan (42 not out) to drive his side home with two overs to spare. Morgan's innings contained three boundaries and two sixes.

For SRH, Khaleel Ahmed, Natarajan and Rashid bagged a wicket each.

Earlier, rode Manish Pandey's valiant effort to reach 142/4. Pandey's innings was decorated with three boundaries and couple of hits into the stands. En-route to his knock, Manish was involved in a 62-run stand for the third wicket with stumper-cum batsman Wriddhiman Saha (30).

Check 2020 IPL latest news and live score updates from 7:30 pm onwards here

 Match 8: IPL, KKR vs SRH scorecard
Check KKR vs SRH full scorecard here
KKR playing 11:  Sunil Narine, Shubman Gill, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell, Pat Cummins, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Varun Chakravarthy, Kuldeep Yadav, Shivam Mavi.

SRH playing 11: David Warner(c), Jonny Bairstow(w), Manish Pandey, Priyam Garg, Mohammad Nabi, Wriddhiman Saha, Abhishek Sharma, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, K Khaleel Ahmed, T Natarajan


Auto Refresh