Business Standard
You are here » Home » Kolkata Knight Riders


Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is Shah Rukh Khan-co-owned Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise, hometowned in Kolkata. KKR plays its home matches at the iconic Eden Gardens. Juhi Chawla and others are also the owners of KKR. The official theme song of the team is Korbo, Lorbo, Jeetbo Re (we will perform, fight and win!). Although the team gained immense popularity due to its association with celebrity owners, it performed pathetically in the first three seasons, thereby tarnishing its image. The team's performance, however, improved from the fourth season as it qualified for the IPL playoffs. They lifted the IPL trophy in 2012 and 2014 under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. 
In IPL 2018, KKR qualified for playoffs but its journey was halted by Sunrisers Hyderabad. Ahead of IPL 2020 players’ auction, Kolkata Knight Riders has released some big players like Chris Lynn and Robin Uthappa. While in the 2020 auctions, KKR has grabbed Australian pacer Pat Cummins for whopping Rs 15.5 crore. Thus, Cummins became costliest player of the season. Other notable addition in KKR squad are England world cup winning captain Eoin Morgan and English youngster Tom Banton. 

The franchise has also made changes in its coach, support staffs, bringing in former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum as head coach and former Australian player David Hussey as mentors. 

Coaching and support support staff: 
  • Head coach: Brendon McCullum
  • Assistant coach: Abhishek Nayar
  • Bowling coach: Kyle Mills
  • Mentor: David Hussey
  • Assistant bowling coach: Omkar Salvi
  • Fielding coach: James Foster
  • Strength and conditioning coach: Chris Donaldson
  • Head Physiotherapist: Kamlesh Jain
  • Performance analyst: AR Srikkanth
  • Team manager: Wayne Bentley
Kolkata Knight Riders players list for IPL 2020

Player Team Retained/bought/traded Price (Rs cr)
Andre Russell KKR Retained 8.50
Chris Green KKR Bought 0.20
Dinesh Karthik KKR Retained 7.40
Eoin Morgan KKR Bought 5.25
Harry Gurney KKR Retained 0.75
Kamlesh Nagarkoti KKR Retained 3.20
Kuldeep Yadav KKR Retained 5.80
Lockie Furguson KKR Retained 1.60
M Siddharth (uncapped) KKR Bought 0.20
Nikhil Naik (uncapped) KKR Bought 0.20
Nitish Rana KKR Retained 3.40
Pat Cummins KKR Bought 15.50
Prasidh Krishna KKR Retained 0.20
Pravin Tambe (uncapped) KKR Bought 0.20
Rahul Tripathi (uncapped) KKR Bought 0.60
Rinku Singh KKR Retained 0.80
Sandeep Warrier KKR Retained 0.20
Shivam Mavi KKR Retained 3.00
Shubman Gill KKR Retained 1.80
Siddhesh Lad KKR Traded in 0.20
Sunil Narine KKR Retained 12.50
Tom Banton KKR Bought 1.00
Varun Chakravarthy (uncapped) KKR Bought 4.00


KKR In News