You are here: Home » International » News » Others
Business Standard

Three gravitational wave scientists win 2017 Nobel Physics Prize

They won 2017 Nobel Prize for Physics for their decisive contributions in the observation of gravitational waves


Nobel logo

Scientists Rainer Weiss, and won the 2017 for for decisive contributions in the observation of gravitational waves, the award-giving body said on Tuesday.

The scientists were awarded the "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves", the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced in Stockholm on Tuesday.

While has been awarded one half of the prize, and will share the other half of the prize.

On September 14, 2015, the universe's gravitational waves were observed for the very first time. The waves came from a collision between two black holes. It took 1.3 billion years for the waves to arrive at the LIGO detector in the US.

“This is something completely new and different, opening up unseen worlds,” the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said in its statement on awarding the 9-million Swedish crown ($1.1 million) prize.

“A wealth of discoveries awaits those who succeed in capturing the waves and interpreting their message.”

is the second of this year’s crop of Nobel Prizes and comes after Americans Jeffrey Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael Young were awarded the for Physiology or Medicine on Monday.

First Published: Tue, October 03 2017. 15:59 IST