Bangalore Political Action Committee experiment success to a extent

Out of 14 candidates supported by BPAC, 9 lost elections, while remaining five have won

Congress workers celebrate the victory

An unique experiment in politics and one which was aimed to build a better Bangalore and enhance the quality of life has met with decent success in the Karnataka elections.

BPAC (Bangalore Political Action Committee) with representation from diverse walks of life including several eminent personalities from the fields of politics, business, sports, the arts and entertainment such as Kiran Mazumdar Shaw and Mohandas Pai, had supported 14 candidates across party lines contesting from various constituencies in Bangalore.

Of the 14 candidates, 9 of them lost the elections, while the remaining five has won.

Also Read

Rajasthan need to be on guard against unpredictable Punjab

Millers pulls off unlikely 6-wkt win for Punjab

Hussey wins toss, invites Bangalore to bat

Party animals

On a hash trail in Bangalore

What Karnataka verdict means for Congress, BJP

Are markets factoring in the possibility of early elections?

Bansal becomes 'mamu' in Upper House

May 8 could bring relief to battered Congress

Yeddyurappa hopes to be the saffron eraser

What Karnataka verdict means for Congress, BJP

The candidates were selected on the basis of their work done to develop their respective constituencies and were also supported with a grant of Rs 5 lakh each for the elections.

" This is a clear anti-incumbency verdict against corruption and political instability. The mandate calls for a clean and stable government. We are happy to see a clear mandate in favor of Congress, which will enable BPAC to catalyze a positive change in the political system. Five BPAC endorsed candidates have won in their constituencies, we congratulate them and look forward to working with them to ensure they deliver on the BPAC Agenda for Bangalore," Kiran Mazumdar Shaw, President, BPAC, said.

List of BPAC supported candidates & how they fared


Congress candidate in Byatarayanapura Krishna Byre Gowda

Congress candidate in Gandhinagar Dinesh Gundu Rao

BJP candidate in Jayanagar B.N. Vijaykumar

BJP candidate in Rajajinagar S. Suresh Kumar

BJP's candidate in Malleshwaram Ashwathanarayan


Congress candidate in Mahalakshmi Layout N L Narendra Babu

Congress candidate in Bangalore South Tejaswini Gowda

Congress candidate in Basavanagudi B K Chandrashekar

JD(S) candidate in Padmanabhanagar M R V Prasad

JD(S) candidate in Hebbal Abdul Azeem

KJP’s Sarvagnanagar candidate Michael B Fernandes

Lok Satta Party candidate in Bommanahalli Ashwin Mahesh

Lok Satta Party candidate Shantha Damle in Basavanagudi

Lok Satta Party candidate in Malleshwaram Meenakshi Bharat

First Published: May 8 2013 | 6:19 PM IST

Explore News