You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » National
Business Standard

Grind begins for presidential election: Who can vote, dates and schedule

Polling will take place in Parliament House and in the premises of legislative assemblies

Presidential Poll

Meghna Sen 

Grind begins for presidential election
The Election Commission has announced that voting to elect India's next President will be held on July 17.

As Pranab Mukherjee's term ends on July 24, the Election Commission has announced that voting to elect India's next President will be held on July 17, with counting on July 20, if needed. Although no political parties have come up with names of candidates, the balance of advantage (see table) is with the ruling Democratic Alliance. It is likely to announce a nominee in a few days.

Who can vote

The electoral college comprises elected members of both Houses of Parliament and elected members of the legislative Assemblies of all states, besides Delhi and Puducherry. A total of 4,896 voters, comprising 4,120 members of legislative Assembly (MLAs) and 776 elected Members of Parliament (MPs).

— The majority mark is around 549,000 votes

There are 776 MPs (Lok Sabha 543, Rajya Sabha 233) and 4,120 elected MLAs across the country. The total number of votes in the electoral college is 1,098,000

Who cannot vote

Nominated members of the Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha and legislative assemblies do not have the right to vote. Nor members of the Legislative Councils.

Unlike the Lok Sabha and assembly elections in India, presidential elections do not have a electronic voting system using EVMs. The Commission will supply a special pen to all voters to mark their choice of candidate on ballot papers.

The elector has to mark preferences against names of the candidates. While marking of the first preference is compulsory for the ballot paper to be valid, other preferences are optional.

Polling will take place in Parliament House and in the premises of legislative assemblies. The Constitution has expressly provided that the election shall be by secret ballot. The procedure, laid down in the 1974 Rules, provides that after marking the vote, the elector is required to fold the ballot paper and insert it in the ballot box.

Grind begins for presidential election

*AIADMK: All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam; AAP: Aam Aadmi Party; INLD: Indian Lok Dal; BJD: Biju Janata Dal; TRS: Telangana Rashtra Samithi & others

No Whip

Political parties cannot issue any whip to their MPs and MLAs for this election.

Nomination of candidates

The nomination paper of a candidate has to be subscribed by at least 50 electors as proposers and by at least another 50 electors as seconders. A security deposit of Rs 15,000 is also needed.

Election schedule

June 14: Issue of notification

June 28: Last date to make nomination

June 29: Date for scrutiny of nomination

July 1: Last day to withdraw nomination

July 17: Date of election (if needed)

July 20: Counting of votes will be held in Delhi (if needed)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Mon, June 12 2017. 09:02 IST