You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News
Indian-origin investor takes legal action after losing $2 mn in FTX crash
Business Standard

Gujarat election results 2022: Here is what happened in five key seats

Gujarat Assembly Election Results 2022: BJP has won the election and Bhupendra Patel will take the oath for the post of CM on December 12

Gujarat elections | Gujarat government | Gujarat

BS Web Team  |  New Delhi 

Gujarat election 2022. gujarat, gujarat assembly elections 2022,
Gujarat assembly elections 2022 (PTI Photo)

The counting for the assembly elections 2022 is underway. According to trends at 3:30 pm, BJP is leading in 157 out of 182 seats. is leading in 16 seats and the (AAP) is at 5 seats. To form the state government, a party needs to get 92 seats in the assembly.

The saffron party has declared victory and Bhupendra Patel will take oath for the post of chief minister (CM) on December 12. PM and home minister Amit Shah will attend the ceremony..

(Watch the LIVE coverage for assembly elections 2022 here)

Gujarat election 2022: Here is what happened in 5 key seats

Ghatlodia assembly seat

Ghatlodia is the constituency of the chief minister of Gujarat, Bhupendra Patel. It comes under the financial capital of the state, . It is being considered to be a litmus test for Patel, who replaced Vijay Rupani for the top post in 2021. In 2017, it was one of the 99 seats won by the BJP. Bhupendra Patel had defeated INC's Patel Shashikant by over 1 lakh votes.

Bhupendra Patel has won the seat.

Viramgam assembly seat

A prominent face of the Patidar agitation in the state, Hardik Patel, is contesting the election from North Gujarat's Viramgam assembly seat. The constituency has been a stronghold for the . Earlier in 2022, Patel quit the party and launched a barrage of attacks on the party's leadership.

In 2017, this seat was won by Congress' Lakha Bharwad. Currently, Patel is leading the count with a big margin of over 50,000 votes over AAP's Amarshinh Thakore, who is at the second spot. .

Vadgam assembly seat

The voting for Vadgam took place in the second phase of the elections 2022 on December 5. Congress party's is the key contender for this seat. He is also the sitting MLA from Vadgam. It has been a Congress stronghold. He is locked in a three-cornered battle with BJP's Manibhai Vaghela and AAP's Dalpat Bhatia. Vaghela, who was the Congress party's MLA from Vadgam from 2012-2017, had quit the party and joined the BJP.

After trailing for almost the whole day, is now leading with over 4,000 votes.

Khambhalia assembly seat

AAP's chief minister candidate Isudan Gadvi is contesting from Devbhoomi Dwarka's Khambhalia seat. He is contesting against Congress' Ahir Vikrambhai Arjanbhai and Mulubhai Bera of BJP. In 2017, Vikrambhai of Congress won the seat by 79,779 votes. In the Gujarat election 2022, 60.29 per cent polling took place in the Khambalia assembly seat.

Mulubhai Bera is leading the count with a comfortable margin of nearly 20,000 votes.

Jamnagar North assembly seat

Rivaba Jadeja, the wife of cricketer Ravindra Jadeja, is contesting from Jamanagr North. and Congress have fielded Karshanbhai Karmur and Bipendrasinh Chatursinh as their candidates.

Rivaba won the seat with a margin of over 50,000 votes.

Subscribe to Business Standard Premium

Exclusive Stories, Curated Newsletters, 26 years of Archives, E-paper, and more!

Insightful news, sharp views, newsletters, e-paper, and more! Unlock incisive commentary only on Business Standard.

Download the Business Standard App for latest Business News and Market News .

First Published: Thu, December 08 2022. 10:36 IST