You are here: Home » Elections » News

LIVE: Mamata questions rationale behind 8-phase assembly polls in Bengal

Election 2021 schedule: ECI has announced election dates for West Bengal, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry Assembly elections. Stay tuned for Assembly elections 2021 LIVE updates

Assembly elections | Tamil Nadu elections | Kerala Elections

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


Assembly Election Dates Announcement LIVE updates: The Election Commission of India has announced the schedule for West Bengal, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry . While 294 Assembly seats are slated to go to polls in West Bengal, 234 seats are up for grabs in Tamil Nadu, 140 seats in Kerala, 126 seats in Assam and 30 seats in Puducherry.

While West Bengal will go to polls in eight phases, Assam will see three-phase voting starting March 27. in Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry will be held on April 6.

During the press conference, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said that a total of 824 assembly constituencies will be going for polls during the upcoming . "As many as 18.68 crore electors will cast vote at 2.7 lakh polling stations in Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Kerala, Assam and Puducherry," Arora said.

In West Bengal, a party has to get 148 to attain the majority. Earlier, the election was held between April 4 and May 5 in 2016, where the All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) under the leadership of Mamata Banerjee was re-elected in Vidhan Sabha.

In Kerlala, a party has to bag 71 seats to form a government. In 2016, the election was held on May 16, where the Left Democratic Front (LDF), led by CPI(M) won the election, and on May 25, Pinarayi Vijayan was sworn in as the chief minister of the state.

Assam Assembly comprises 126 seats. A party has to garner 64 of them to get a majority. Earlier, the Assam Assembly election was held between April 4-11 in 2016, where Sarbananda Sonowal led-BJP was able to overthrow Congress party under Tarun Gogoi in the state.

will be held for 234 seats. The term limits of the fifteenth Tamil Nadu legislative assembly will end on May 24, 2021.

Puducherry is currently under the President's rule.

Stay tuned for LIVE updates


Auto Refresh