Lok Sabha poll highlights: 64% turnout in phase 4; violence in WB, Odisha

Voting for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 phase 4 to decide the fate of 961 candidates is underway. 38.63% voter turnout was recorded till 1 pm. Catch live updates on General elections 2019

2019 Lok Sabha Polls  |  General Elections 2019  |  Rajasthan Election

BS Web Team 


Lok Sabha Elections Phase 4: Incidents of violence in West Bengal and Odisha that left a Congress worker dead and EVM glitches were reported in the fourth phase of Lok Sabha polls on Monday which saw 64 per cent turnout in 72 seats across nine states.
In the heartland states, where the BJP had won 30 out of 32 seats in 2014, 67.73 per cent turnout was recorded in Rajasthan (13 seats), 58.56 per cent in Uttar Pradesh (13 seats) and 67.09 per cent in Madhya Pradesh (6 seats), according to the Election Commission.'

West Bengal recorded a high turnout at 76.66 in the eight seats though clashes broke out between supporters of TMC and BJP in Nanoor, Rampurhat, Nalhati and Suri areas of Birbhum seat, leaving several people injured.

A Congress worker was stabbed to death in Balikuda-Erasama are of Jagatsinghpur seat while he was returning from a polling booth. The victim, Lachman Behera, had recently quit the BJD to join the Congress, the official said.

Clashes between supporters of the ruling BJD and the BJP were reported from Jajpur Kendrapara and Balasore Lok Sabha seats amid allegations poll rigging.
Technical glitches in EVMs delayed polling in 60 booths, but it resumed after the snags were rectified.

During a mock-poll in Madhya Pradesh, electronic voting machines (EVMs) were replaced at 207 polling booths as some glitches were found. EVMs were also replaced at 106 polling booths after the voting began, according to officials.

Voting was also held for 41 Assembly seats in Odisha and Chhindwara Assembly bypoll in Madhya Pradesh, where Chief Minister Kamal Nath is contesting.

Lok Sabha Elections phase 4:

The electorate will decide the political fortunes of 961 candidates in this phase.

Some of the key constituencies that went to polls on Monday are:

Begusarai (Bihar), Darbhanga (Bihar), Chhindwara (Madhya Pradesh), Maval (Maharashtra), Mumbai North Central (Maharashtra), Mumbai North (Maharashtra), Kendrapara (Odisha), Jodhpur (Rajasthan), Barmer (Rajasthan), Jhalawar-Baran (Rajasthan), Unnao (Uttar Pradesh), Kanpur city (Uttar Pradesh), Bahrampur (West Bengal), Asansol (West Bengal)

Lok Sabha Election results will be announced on May 23.


Auto Refresh