Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 will be held in seven phases - from April 11 to May 19 - to choose the members of the lower House of Parliament. The Election Commission of India will organise the 2019 general elections across India's 543 constituencies in 29 states and 7 Union Territories. Political parties of all hues, sizes and representations - close to 350 in total - would try their luck in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. In what will be the world's largest democratic 'festival', millions of Indians will exercise their voting rights to decide their representatives in the 17th Lok Sabha.

The incumbent 16th Lok Sabha members had been elected in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, which the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had swept comprehensively under the leadership of Narendra Modi - the first instance in 30 years of one party getting an absolute majority in the Lok Sabha. The grand old party of India, the Indian National Congress, which had secured the previous clear majority, in 1984, was in 2014 reduced to merely 45 seats in its worst defeat ever. The BJP had bagged 282 seats and formed the government on its own, even as it had the support of several other parties.

The Election Commission of India has a huge task at hand this time, as the 2019 elections are expected to be the biggest in the history of democratic India. What's more, simultaneously with the 543 Lok Sabha seats, elections this time are also being held in 413 Assembly constituencies across four states - Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim.

If the previous election was big in terms of electoral rolls, the 2019 polls are set to be bigger. In the run-up, both national and regional political parties have launched their campaigns in various parts of the country to spread the word about their agenda and to win the trust of voters.

Several parties have already formed pre-poll alliances. The Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Akhilesh Yadav's Samajwadi Party (SP) have joined hands in Uttar Pradesh. BJP has not only managed to renew its alliance with sulking old friend Shiv Sena in Maharashtra, but also joined forces with the ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Khazgam in Tamil Nadu. The results for both Lok Sabha elections 2019 and the four state Assembly elections will be declared on May 23.