You are here: Home » International » News » Politics
Business Standard

India re-elected to UN organ on economic, social, environmental issues

France, Germany, Ghana, Ireland and Japan were among nations seeking re-election

Press Trust of India  |  United Nations 

united nations
United Nations. Photo: Reuters

has been re-elected to the UN's principal organ on economic, social and environmental issues for another three-year term.

was among 18 nations to win to the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). obtained 183 votes, the second highest after in the Pacific category. to fill the 18 vacancies in was held yesterday.

"Another day, another ..India wins again.Thanks to the support of @UNMember States, India re-elected to (Eco & Social Council)," India's Permanent Representative to the Ambassador Syed Akbaruddin tweeted.

India's re-election to comes just a day after leading expert on Neeru Chadha won a crucial election to the Tribunal for the of the Sea (ITLOS), Asia-Pacific becoming the first Indian woman to be elected as a judge to the tribunal.Chadha got 120 votes, the Asia-Pacific group and was elected in the first round of voting itself.

India was seeking re-election to ECOSOC as its current term is set to expire this year.Pakistan, whose term on the Council is expiring this year, too was seeking re-election to the body but lost as it got only one vote.

Having obtained the required two-thirds majority, the nations elected members of ECOSOC for a three-year term beginningJanuary 12018 are Belarus, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Germany, Ghana, India, Ireland, Japan, Malawi, Mexico, Morocco, Philippines, Spain, Sudan, Togo, Turkey and Uruguay.

France, Germany, Ghana, Ireland and were among nations seeking re-election.

ECOSOC, one of the six main organs of the United Nations, is the principal body for coordination, policy review, policy dialogue and recommendations on economic, social and environmental issues, as well as for implementation of the internationally agreed development goals.

The Council's 54 member Governments are elected by the General Assembly for overlapping three-year terms. Seats on the Council are allotted based on geographical representation with fourteen allocated to African States, eleven to Asian States, six to Eastern European States, ten to Latin American and Caribbean States, and thirteen to Western European and other States.

First Published: Fri, June 16 2017. 13:25 IST