You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

DMK urges EC to hold by-polls for 21 seats in TN along with LS polls

ANI  |  Politics 

A delegation headed by and (DMK) leader visited the Election Commission (EC) office here on Friday, urging the top electoral body to hold by-polls for 21 vacant assembly seats in simultaneously with the Lok Sabha elections, slated to be held between April-May.

The delegation submitted a letter to the EC on the same, stating that it would save time for the voters and save public exchequer.

"(DMK chief MK) had asked us to meet the EC and give a representation to them. We submitted a letter stating that by-polls for 21 seats in should be held along with the parliamentary elections," told ANI.

Out of the 21 seats, 18 of them had fallen vacant after the disqualification of the AIADMK (All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam) MLAs who had pledged support to TTV Dhinakaran by Assembly Subsequently, the upheld the validity of the Speaker's order last year.

The disqualified MLAs were -- S Thangatamilselvan (Andipatti), R Murugan (Harur), S (Manamadurai), K Kadirkamu (Periyakulam), (Gudiyattam), P Palaniappan (Pappireddypatti), V (Aravakurichi), S Muthiah (Paramakudi), P Vetrivel (Perambur), NG Pathiban (Sholingur), M Kodandapani (Tiruporur), TA Elumalai (Poonamallee), M Rengasamy (Thanjavur), R Thangadurai (Nilakottai), R Balasubramani (Ambur), SG Subramanian (Sattur), R Sundaraj (Ottapidaram) and (Vilathikulam).

Two seats fell vacant following the demises of former M Karunanidhi (DMK-Tiruvarur) and A K Bose (DMK-Tiruparankundram) last year.

P Balakrishna Reddy, who was the sitting MLA from Hosur, was sentenced to three years of imprisonment in a criminal case on January 7.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, February 08 2019. 19:07 IST