You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

Justices Joseph, Banerjee and Saran sworn in as SC judges

ANI  |  New Delhi [India] 

Justices Indira Banerjee, and K M Joseph were on Tuesday sworn in as the judges of the in the order of seniority notified by the Centre.

With today's swearing-in, the total number of judges in the apex court has gone up to 25.

of (CJI) Dipak Misra administered the oath of office to Justices Banerjee, Saran and Joseph.

Earlier, the ceremony was surrounded by a controversy over the order in which the three judges were sworn-in.

Sources told ANI that Justices and met the of on Monday over the seniority issue of Justice K M Joseph.

also slammed the Centre for interfering in the matter of the

"The government has given the message that if a doesn't make a judgement in their favour, he may be treated the same. I believe that this day will be seen as a 'black day' in the history of Indian judiciary. This is the arrogance of the government," Sibal told ANI.

As per convention, the seniority of judges is determined on the basis of their swearing-in as judges of High Courts.

Justice became on February 5, 2002 and Justice was appointed to the on February 14, 2002.

Meanwhile, Justice Joseph was appointed on October 14, 2004.

Last month, the Supreme Court collegium had unanimously reiterated the recommendation for elevation of Justice to the apex court.

The decision was made after the Centre rejected the collegium's recommendation for the elevation of Justice KM Joseph to the Supreme Court earlier this year.

The government drew flak when Justice Joseph's name was recommended by the collegium in January.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, August 07 2018. 15:50 IST