You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

LS Polls: DMK announces constituencies allotted self, allies

ANI  |  Politics 

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) chief M K on Friday announced the constituencies from where his party and its allies will contest for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls in and Puducherry.

Speaking to media, the said, "This alliance has come together on the basis of the ideology but not on money. This is a secular front."

"Our candidates' list will be out March 17," he added.

A total of 39 Lok Sabha seats are at stake in and one in Puducherry.

As per the released list, DMK will contest from 20 seats which include - Thoothukudi, (South), (Central), (North), Kanchipuram, Nilgiris, Pollachi being the major ones.

led will be contesting from Thiruvallur(SC), Krishnagiri, Arani, Karur, Tiruchirappalli, Sivaganga, Theni, Virudhunagar, Kanyakumari, and the union territory of Puducherry.

The (CPI) has been given only two seats in Nagapattinam(SC) and Tiruppur, while the CPI(M) had been given and

Notably, apart from Lok Sabha elections which are scheduled to take place on April 18, by-polls will also be held in 18 assembly seats simultaneously.

The will announce the results on May 23.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, March 15 2019. 15:33 IST