Business Standard

Rajiv Kumar appointed Finance Secretary


Rajiv Kumar, Secretary in the Department of Financial Services, was on Tuesday named the new Finance Secretary to take the place of Subhash Chandra Garg, who was shunted to the Power Ministry.
Garg sought voluntary retirement from government service earlier this week after he was transferred to the Ministry of Power in a bureaucratic reshuffle.
"The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved designating Shri Rajiv Kumar, lAS (JH:1984), Secretary, Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance as Finance Secretary," read a statement issued by the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions.
Earlier this week, the government had reshuffled top bureaucrats across 12 ministries, departments and agencies.
The rejig came less than three weeks after the Union Budget was presented in the Lok Sabha and a day after it was passed by Parliament.
Garg, who formerly served as the Finance Secretary, was on Tuesday moved to the Ministry of Power, a day after which Atanu Chakraborty, a 1985-batch Gujarat-cadre Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer, was named Garg's replacement.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jul 30 2019 | 8:32 PM IST

Explore News