You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

'Underdog' RJD resurrects on Bihar's political scene emphatically

ANI  |  Patna 

Lalu Prasad Yadav's Rashtriya Janata Dal, a constituent of the Mahagathbandhan, emerged as the single largest party, winning 80 seats in the 243-seat Bihar assembly, the final result for which were declared by the Election Commission at 9

The Mahagathbandhan (grand alliance), however, made a clean sweep by securing 178 of the 243 seats, with Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal (United) winning 71 seats and the Congress Party securing 27 seats, paving the way for Nitish to form his government for a consecutive third time.

The NDA, on the other hand, secured 58 seats, with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagging 53 seats, Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) winning two seats each, and Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM, Secular) securing one seat.

The Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) bagged three seats in its kitty, while four Independents winning their respective seats.

The RJD, which was considered as "underdogs" by many analysts with its chief Lalu's political future seemed to be waning, surprised everyone as they resurrect emphatically on Bihar's political scene.

Though Lalu's joining hands with his arch-rival Nitish Kumar was described by many as a "desperate attempt" to remain relevant on country's political stage, the result, however, proved otherwise.

First Published: Sun, November 08 2015. 22:33 IST