You are here: Home » News-ANI » Sports
Business Standard

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Jaydev Unadkat to lead Saurashtra in tournament

Bowler Jaydev Unadkat will captain the Saurashtra team in the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021

Jaydev Unadkat | Vijay Hazare Trophy | Domestic cricket

ANI  |  Cricket 

Jaydev Unadkat. Photo: Twitter
Jaydev Unadkat. Photo: Twitter

Bowler will captain the Saurashtra team in the upcoming 2021.

The Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA) on Thursday named a 20-member squad for the tournament slated to begin from February 20.

The pace attack is led by Unadkat and it also features Chetan Sakariya while the spin department has Dharmendrasinh Jadeja.

The side also has specialist batsmen Arpit Vasavada, Chirag Jani, Avi Barot, Prerak Mankad, and Vishwarajsinh Jadeja.

"Senior Selection committee of Saurashtra Cricket Association have had a meeting to select Saurashtra's Senior team for BCCI's Vijay Hazare One Day Trophy 2020-21," the SCA said in an official statement.

The Saurashtra Squad: (skipper), Avi Barot, Chirag Jani, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Jay Chauhan, Parth Bhut, Agnivesh Ayachi, Snell Patel, Kishan Parmar, Himalay Barad, Kushang Patel, Parth Chauhan, Devang Karamta, Harvik Desai, Arpit Vasavada, Kamlesh Makwana, Vishwarajsinh Jadeja, Chetan Sakariya, Prerak Mankad, Divyarajsinh Chauhan

The will kick off from February 20 and the teams are required to assemble in their host cities a week before the tournament begins.

The sides will then undergo COVID-19 testing procedures and quarantine in accordance with the state regulatory authorities and the Board of Control for Cricket in India's (BCCI) standard operating procedure (SOP).

The tournament will be held across six venues in Surat, Indore, Bangalore, Jaipur, Kolkata, and Tamil Nadu. Teams have been divided into five Elite groups and one Plate group. Team Saurashtra is in Elite Group E and shall play matches at Kolkata

"The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will start the from February 20th 2021.onwards. The teams are required to assemble in their respective host cities on February 13 and will be needed to undergo COVID-19 testing procedures and quarantine in accordance with the state regulatory authorities and the BCCI Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs)," BCCI Secretary Jay Shah had said in his letter to all affiliated units of the body.

The quarter-finals will be played on March 8 and 9, while the semi-finals will take place on March 11. The final match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy is scheduled for March 14.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Thu, February 11 2021. 16:40 IST