You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

21,000 villages picked for saturation of government plans


IANS  |  New Delhi 

Union Rural Development Minister Narendra Singh Tomar on Thursday said his ministry has chosen 21,000 villages across the country for saturation of seven Central welfare schemes during the 22-day "Gram Swaraj Abhiyan" programme to be started from Saturday.

Tomar's announcement came just a day after Prime Minister Narendra Modi asked all elected representatives of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to go to villages to ensure that the benefits of the welfare schemes aimed at the poor and those living in rural areas reached them.

The Minister said the Gram Swaraj Abhiyan will begin on the birth anniversary of Dalit icon B.R. Ambedkar and end on May 5.

A total of 1,000 Central government employees have been selected for the "100 per cent" saturation of these seven schemes and they would be working along with state government officials, he said.

The seven schemes include Ujjwala, Saubhagya or Sahaj Bijli Har Ghar Yojana, Ujala, Pradhan Mantri Jan-Dhan Yojana and Pradhan Mantri Jeevan Jyoti Yojana, among others.

He said Ujjwala Yojana is related to the distribution of LPG cylinders, Saubhagya to distribution of electricity, while Ujala is linked to the distribution of LED bulbs to people in rural areas.

Tomar said the Central and state government officials would open accounts of people in the villages selected under the Pradhan Mantri Jan-Dhan Yojana and motivate them to take life insurance being provided by the Central government under Pradhan Mantri Jeevan Jyoti Yojana.

He said under the programme, party leaders would celebrate April 18 as "Swachh Bharat Parv", April 20 as "Ujwala Diwas", April 24 as "Panchayati Raj Diwas", April 28 as "Gram Shakti Abhiyan" and April 30 as "Ayushman Bharat Diwas" celebrating the scheme popularly called "Modicare".

A Kishan Kalyan Karyashala, focussed on empowering farmers by doubling their income, will be organised on May 2 and a Kaushal Vikas Mela will be held for the labour class on May 5.

The Prime Minister would also be visiting Maoist-affected Bijapur in Chhattisgarh on Saturday April 14 to join the programme.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Thu, April 12 2018. 23:02 IST