You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

25.25% voting in Bihar LS polls (12 p.m.)

IANS  |  Patna 

witnessed a 25.25 per cent till 12 p.m. on Sunday in the to the state's eight parliamentary constituencies, amid reports of people ransacking a polling booth and holding an administration official hostage for an hour, officials said.

According to the election officials, angry voters ransacked the polling booth in Nalanda and held the hostage. No voting took place in the booth.

The was freed after police intervention.

Meanwhile, glitches in Electronic Voting Machines were reported across the eight constituencies, leading to delay in the poll process in few booths.

Nitish Kumar, Deputy and former Chief Ministers Jitan and Rabri Devi voted in

Other prominent faces who voted in the state capital include Ravi Shankar Prasad, candidate from and RJD supremo Lalu Prasad's daughter

Sinha was accompanied by his wife and his two sons, Luv and Kush.

More than 1,52,52,608 voters will decide the fate of 157 candidates in Sahib, Patliputra, Arrah, Buxar, Nalanda, Sasaram, Karakat and Jehanabad constituencies. Voting began at 7 a.m. and will end at 6 p.m.

Four Union Ministers Ravi Shankar Prasad, Ram Kripal Yadav, and are in the fray.

Important candidates from the opposition camp include former Lok Sabha is candidate from Sasaram seat and former and RLSP chief from Karakat seat. The RLSP is an ally of the RJD-led

The ruling BJP-led NDA had won all these eight seats in 2014.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, May 19 2019. 12:52 IST