You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

BJP nominees file papers for UP Legislative Council polls

IANS  |  Lucknow 

Ten candidates of the ruling (BJP) and one member of their ally on Monday filed their nominations for the Legislative Council polls, scheduled for April 26.

The BJP has named Vijay Bahadur Pathak, Mahendra Singh, Vidya Sagar Sonkar, Mohsin Raza, Sarojini Agarwal, Ashok Kataria, Yashwant Singh, Ashok Dhawan, and as its candidates for to the upper House of the state assembly.

One seat has been given to Ashish Singh, of

Earlier, Chief drove to the party headquarters and greeted the candidates. also wished them success.

While two candidates of the party are ministers in the and five others party office-bearers, the BJP has also given tickets to who was formerly with the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), and to and Buqqal Nawab, formerly leaders.

Voting for the 13 seats of the 100-member upper House will be held on April 26.

The SP has named its for the polls while the BSP has fielded B.R. Ambedkar, who unsuccessfully contested the Rajya Sabha biennial polls last month. The SP has assured the BSP candidate of its surplus votes.

The tenure of 12 MLCs, including former Chief is coming to an end on May 5. One seat is vacant because of the resignation of former Ambika Chowdhary, who joined the BSP from the SP ahead of the state assembly polls in 2017.

Of the 100 seats in the Council, there are 38 seats for which MLAs cast their votes and for 36 more, nominations are made through the local bodies.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, April 16 2018. 16:36 IST