IPL: Revamped Delhi eye turn of fortune in 2019 (Team Profile)

IANS New Delhi

With a new name, new crest and new colours, Delhi Capitals will be aiming to make their mark in the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) after almost a decade of below-par outings in the cash-rich league.

Previously named Delhi Daredevils, the franchise is now jointly owned by the GMR Group and the JSW Group. In December 2018, the team renamed itself from the Delhi Daredevils to the Delhi Capitals.

After doing well in the initial couple of years, the Delhi franchise have never appeared in an IPL play-off. The last time they qualified for the play-offs was in 2012.

Delhi dominated the charts initially under the likes of Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, AB de Villiers, Daniel Vettori and Amit Mishra, but as the seasons went by it struggled to find their old charm and mostly finished at the bottom.

Also Read

Hyderabad trades Dhawan owing to finances

IPL: Delhi Capitals announce Dhiraj Malhotra as new CEO

'Unsettled' Dhawan moves to Daredevils from Sunrisers

IPL: Delhi Daredevils trade Dhawan from Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL: Powerhouse CSK aim to continue domination

JK Tyre Himalayan Drive set to take off on Wednesday

Anish finishes 5th at shooting World Cup

Sports stars salute IAF for Balakot air-strike

Bruised India look to bounce back in second T20I (Preview)

No talks with government as yet on India-Pak World Cup tie, says BCCI official

For the upcoming edition, Delhi Capitals have strengthened the middle-order batting by investing a lion's share on Colin Ingram (Rs 6.4 crore), besides spending Rs 2 crore each to bag services of all-rounder Hanuma Vihari and Sherane Rutherford.

It also got veteran India pacer and local boy Ishant Sharma for Rs 1.10 crore. India discard Axar Patel was then bought for Rs 5 crore.

For the 2019 edition, Delhi retained 14 players and traded in 1 player (Shikhar Dhawan from Sunrisers Hyderabad).

The retained players are: Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav, Manjot Kalra, Colin Munro, Trent Boult, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada and Sandeep Lamichhane.

In the 12th edition of IPL, fans could witness the old charm of Delhi as several quality players were retained and bought by the franchise. Last year, Delhi finished at the bottom, losing nine matches out of 14.

(Gaurav Sharma can be contacted at



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Feb 26 2019 | 5:56 PM IST

Explore News