You are here: Home » News-IANS » Sports
Business Standard

Kane named in England's Nations League 27-man squad

IANS  |  London 

England has included in his squad of 27 players for the UEFA to be held in June. has not played since April 9 due to an ankle injury, but is working to be fit to play a part in final on June 1.

Southgate has also named Kane's teammate Harry Winks, who has also been sidelined by since April, while forward has also been named along with James Ward Prowse, reports.

Redmond and will replace Chelsea duo and Callum Hudson-Odoi, both of whom have

"It is very unfortunate that they look like they have sustained which may keep them out for some time; although we are waiting for confirmation on Ruben," said Southgate on Thursday.

The admitted he had named 27 players because there were "unknowns" and admitted Kane's fitness was "one of the unknowns".

"He is working towards being fit, and we have got to see how that progresses. Clearly he is a we would want to give every opportunity to, his goal-scoring record for us is phenomenally high and he is the of the team. So we are keeping that door open and we will see how things progress," said Southgate.

England will play the in the semi-final on June 6 and Southgate will have to reduce his squad from 27 to 23 by May 27, but with nine players likely to be involved in final between and on June 2, there is a risk of losing players through and not being able to then replace them.

Following is the England squad for finals:

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland, Tom Heaton,

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Ben Chilwell, Joe Gomez, Michael Keane, Harry Maguire, Danny Rose, John Stones, Kieran Trippier,

Midfielders: Ross Barkley, Dele Alli, Fabian Delph, Eric Dier, Jordan Henderson, Declan Rice, James Ward-Prowse,

Forwards: Harry Kane, Jesse Lingard, Marcus Rashford, Nathan Redmond, Jadon Sancho, Raheem Sterling,



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, May 17 2019. 09:20 IST