You are here: Home » News-IANS » Sports
Business Standard

Railways win men's national hockey title

IANS  |  Gwalior 

Railways came up with a scintillating performance to dethrone defending champions 3-2 in the final of the 9th Senior National Men Hockey Championship 2019, here on Sunday.

Both teams rallied cautiously in the first quarter as they kept the defences tight to prevent space in the striking circle.

With no potential circle penetrations made, the first quarter ended in a stalemate. But it was the defending champions who made the first breakthrough in the 23rd minute.

It was who gave that precious 1-0 lead with a perfect drag. Only minutes before that, striker had come close to scoring what would have been a rollicking goal but he missed by inches.

The lead, however, did not deter the Promotion Board as they tightened their defence and upped their ante in attack.

The third quarter belonged to who scored two crucial field goals in the 35th and 43rd minutes. Nilakanta Sharma of the Junior fame was instrumental in the Railway Promotion Board's attack as he tested Hockey Punjab's defence by making forays inside their striking circle.

In the third quarter scored an important goal in the 57th minute to take Promotion Board lead to 3-1. Though finally converted a shot on goal after several attempts through the match in the 60th minute, it was not enough to snatch victory for victory.

In the bronze medal match, beat and Sind Bank 4-1. Talwinder Singh (8th minute), Devinder Walmiki (13th), Harmanpreet Singh (49th) and Mandeep Singh (57th) scored for the winners while Gaganpreet Singh (51st) scored for and Sind Bank.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, February 10 2019. 21:34 IST