You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Singhvi, five others file nominations for RS polls from West Bengal

IANS  |  Kolkata 

Trinamool Congress-backed nominee and five other candidates on Monday filed their papers for the March 23 elections for five seats from

Subhasish Chakraborty, Abir Biswas, and from the Trinamool, and Communist Party of India-Marxist's Rabin Deb were the others to file their nominations at the Assembly during the day, making a contest inevitable in case none of these candidates opts out.

Singhvi's nomination had 40 proposers -- 20 each from the and the Trinamool. After completing the formalities, Singhvi called for preventing any division in the anti-BJP votes in the country in order to "stop the march of divisive forces".

"In the present situation, it is our task to stop the march of divisive forces and the in the country. And, for this, we need to ensure there is no division in the anti-BJP votes," he said.

Chief Minister and TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee has announced her party support for Singhvi.

Elections to the five upper house seats have been necessitated as the terms of Kunal Ghosh, Vivek Gupta, and of the TMC and Tapan Sen of CPI-M will end on April 2.

Mukul Roy, who left the Trinamool last year and joined the BJP, has resigned from the upper house of Parliament.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, March 12 2018. 20:30 IST