You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Telangana Home Minister among 5 elected to Council

IANS  |  Hyderabad 

Telangana's Mohammed was among the five candidates elected to the state on Tuesday.

Ali, Yegge Mallesham, and Satyavathi Rathod, all belonging to ruling Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and of ally (MIM) were elected to the upper house from the MLA's quota.

Their election was a formality after the opposition decided to stay away from polling.

Members of state Assembly cast their votes in the elections on Tuesday. K. Chandrashekhar Rao, his cabinet colleagues and all other members of the and the MIM participated in the voting.

According to poll officials, 91 MLAs of the and seven of the MIM cast their votes.

The Congress, which had a strength of 19 in 119-member Assembly, also fielded a candidate with the hope of getting support of both the MLAs of its ally However, during last one week, four of its MLAs and one of the TDP defected to the ruling party.

Accusing the TRS of engineering defections, decided to boycott the elections.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, March 12 2019. 19:42 IST