Business Standard

Month-long Maharashtra political crisis ends; Uddhav Thackeray becomes CM

Uddhav has become the first chief minister from the Thackeray family. Catch Maharashtra government formation LIVE updates

Uddhav Thackeray takes oath as chief minister of Maharashtra at Shivaji Park. Photo: Kamlesh Pednekar

Uddhav Thackeray takes oath as chief minister of Maharashtra at Shivaji Park. Photo: Kamlesh Pednekar

Maharashtra politics LIVE: Shiv Sena President Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray was sworn-in as the new Chief Minister of Maharashtra in a grand function held at the Shivaji Park here on Thursday evening.

Governor B.S. Koshyari administered the oath of office and secrecy to Uddhav Thackeray, 59, who sported a striking saffron coloured kurta-pyjama, the Sena party's colour.

In an unusual gesture, soon after completing the formalities, Uddhav Thackeray stepped to the front of the stage and knelt down, touched his hands and head on the floor to express his gratitude to the people of Maharashtra for the honour bestowed on him.

Nitin Raut of Congress, Balasaheb Thorat of Congress, Chhagan Bhujbal of NCP, Jayant Patil of NCP, Subhash Desai of Shiv Sena, Eknath Shinde of Shiv Sena also took oath as ministers. 

7:05 PM

Nitin Raut of Congress takes oath

7:02 PM

Balasaheb Thorat of Congress takes oath

6:58 PM

Chhagan Bhujbal of NCP being sworn in

Aaditya Thackeray acknowledges Bhujbal's oath with applause. 
6:55 PM

6:54 PM

Jayant Patil of NCP being sworn in

Jayant Patil has been the finance minister of Maharashtra earlier. He is known to be a close aide to Sharad pawar.
6:51 PM

6:51 PM

Subhash Desai of Shiv Sena being sworn in

6:48 PM

Eknath Shinde of Shiv Sena being sworn in as minister

6:46 PM

6:46 PM

Uddhav becomes first Chief Minister from Thackeray family

6:44 PM

Uddhav now takes the oath of secrecy
6:44 PM

Uddhav takes oath of the office the Chief Minister of Maharashtra. 
6:38 PM

Guv Bhagat Singh Koshyari on the stage. National anthem being played

6:30 PM

6:25 PM

The stage is set for Uddhav Thackeray's swearing-in ceremony. MK Stalin, Kapil Sibal, Raj Thackeray, Praful Patel, and others are on the stage. 

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Nov 28 2019 | 9:17 AM IST

Explore News