You are here: Home » Politics » News » National
Business Standard

Must refrain from making 'arbitrary declarations': Congress to P Chidambaram

In Uttarakhand, the BJP won with a clear majority with 57 seats in the 70-member assembly

Assembly Election Results 2017

ANI  |  New Delhi 

Chidambaram, P Chidambaram
P Chidambaram

The Congress Party on Sunday downplayed the remarks made by P. Chidambaram for declaring Prime Minister Narendra Modi 'the most dominant political leader', and asked the former union finance minister to examine more "clinically" before making "arbitrary declarations".

"Views expressed by senior leaders are part of their expression; we only respect the mandate of the people. If, there were such a big mandate in favour of the Prime Minister then what about Goa, Punjab and what about Manipur? These are issues people will ask before making any arbitrary declarations; one must examine the matter more clinically," Congress leader Tom Vadakkan told ANI.

Echoing similar sentiments, Communist Party of India (CPI) leader D. Raja argued that the reason Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was able to get the majority was because of the anti-incumbency factor.

"If you look at the results of Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh, there is an issue of anti-incumbency. People voted against the incumbent government everywhere. So people were dissatisfied with the government. One should analyse the election results objectively and without any bias and prejudices and one should not rush to make sweeping judgement and conclusions," Raja told ANI.

Earlier today, Chidambaram said that the BJP's electoral wins in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand reflected that Prime Minister Modi "is the most dominant political leader".

"The victories in Uttar Pradesh (UP) and Uttarakhand have re-confirmed that Mr Narendra Modi is the most dominant political leader," Chidambaram tweeted.

In Uttar Pradesh, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) witnessed an unprecedented victory with 321 seats in the assembly elections contested for 403 seats, while the Congress-Samajwadi Party alliance bagged 54, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) got 19 and others bagged 18 seats respectively.

In Uttarakhand, the BJP won with a clear majority with 57 seats in the 70-member assembly, ousting the Congress led by Harish Rawat.

The Congress managed to win just 11 seats.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Sun, March 12 2017. 19:30 IST