You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

BJP tally in U'khand up to 57 after Lohaghat win

Press Trust of India  |  Dehradun 

has won the Lohaghat assembly seat, the result of which was announced today, by 834 votes to take the party's overall tally in assembly to 57.

BJP's Puran Singh Fartyal defeated nearest rival Khushal Singh of the by 834 votes. Fartyal polled 27685 votes and Khushal 26851 votes, state office here said.

The result of the seat was announced today after a repoll was held and counting undertaken afresh at Karankarayat booth of Lohaghat where counting had to be stopped midway through the process on March 11 due to some Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) developing a technical fault.

The faults in the EVMs prompted authorities to announce the of only 69 out of a total of 70 assembly seats in the state.

Polling at booth no 128 Govt Inter College, Karankarayat of Lohaghat seat where EVMs suddenly stopped displaying due to some technical problem prompting authorities to stop counting was held afresh today after which counting of votes was carried out and declared which went in favour of BJP, the state office here said.

The final position of parties after announcement of poll results for Lohaghat assembly seat today stands as BJP- 57, 11 and Independents 2 out of a total of 70 assembly seats in

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, March 15 2017. 20:57 IST