You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Campaigning for lone LS seat, bypoll for 1 assly seat ends

Press Trust of India  |  Puducherry 

The nearly one month long campaigning by political parties for the April 18 elections in the union territory for the lone seat and the by election to assembly here ended at 6 PM today.

Leaders of various political parties, including from neighbouring had campaigned in Puducherry in support of their respective front's candidates for nearly a month.

Local leaders and others attached to the DMK led Secular Progressive Alliance (SPA) had attacked not only the BJP led NDA, AINRC and AIADMK, but also "for putting obstacles in implementation of welfare schemes."

The poll is for all practical purposes a prestige fight between the ruling and opposition AINRC.

The focussed on the manifesto and highlighted its promise that every poor family would be provided a monthly income of Rs 6000.

He also highlighted 'challenges' the elected government was facing here because of 'obstacles' was placing in implementation of schemes and also the fall in grants from the Centre.

Narayanasamy had pointed out that statehood was the only solution to help the Union Territory overcome its sufferings.

and former N Rangasamy had flayed the three year rule here, accusing it of failure in all sectors without implementing welfare schemes.

Rangasamy had also said the should have maintained cordial relations with Bedi for better development of the Union Territoty, instead of frequently locking horns with her.

Eighteen candidates are contesting the lone seat in Parliament, including senior Congress Vaithilingam, doctor turned K Narayanasamy (AINRC), former AIADMK MLA M A S Subramanian (Makkal Needhi Maiam), among others.

There are also two women contestants in the fray.

Puducherry and its outlying regions of Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam together have a total strength of 9,73,410 voters.

Women voters with a strength of 5,13,810 outnumber men. (4,59,504). There are 96 voters coming under the other category.

The Assembly segment fell vacant following disqualification of sitting (AINRC) on November 8 after he was convicted by a in a disproportionate assets case.

All 18 candidates contesting the poll are fresh faces in a though the Congress candidate is a former Chief Minister and former

Similarly all eight candidates contesting the bypoll to Assembly constituency are also green horns in the poll battle.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, April 16 2019. 18:40 IST