You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Centre reviews progress in establishing institutions in AP, division of assets

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Days after two TDP ministers quit the government, the Centre today reviewed the progress of establishing central higher institutes in as well as division of assets of state PSUs, officials said.

The review meeting was chaired by and attended by and Principal Resident of the government, G

"The reviewed the Schedule 13 of the Reorganisation Act which is related to establishment of higher institutes.

"The meeting also reviewed Schedule 9 and 1o of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act which relates to division of assets and liabilities of undivided Andhra Pradesh," the told reporters here.

Another said the has assured that the proposals (draft Bills) for establishing a and a in Andhra Pradesh would be placed before the for approval before being tabled in Parliament.

As per the Schedule 13 of the Act, shall take steps to establish institutions of national importance in the 12th and 13th Plan periods in the successor state of Andhra Pradesh.

This would include one IIT, one NIT, one IIM, one IISER, one Central University, one Petroleum University, one and one IIIT.

It also says that the shall establish one AIIMS-type super-specialty hospital-cum-teaching institution in the successor state of Andhra Pradesh, a each in Andhra Pradesh and and a in besides others.

The Schedule 9 of the Act listed the state undertakings like the Andhra Pradesh State Seeds Development Corporation Ltd, Andhra Pradesh State Agro Ltd, Andhra Pradesh State Warehousing Corporation, besides others.

The Schedule 10 of the Act lists training centres and institutions like Andhra Pradesh State Co-operative Union, Environment Protection Training and Research Institute, Andhra Pradesh Forest Academy, Andhra Pradesh State Council of Science and Technology, Andhra Pradesh Study Circle for Backward Classes besides others.

Reports say Andhra Pradesh has been arguing that most of the 107 institutions listed under schedule 10 are located in and they should be divided between the two successor states as per the State Reorganisation Act and jointly allowed to have access to services of these institutions, Telangana has been emphasising that they belonged to the state in whose territory they are located and their services could be availed through coordination between the two governments.

Two representatives of the TDP in the - and Y S Chowdary - had resigned on March 8 alleging that the central government has failed to grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, March 12 2018. 19:15 IST