Business Standard

Gorakhpur bypolls: UP CM to address rallies in 5 assembly seats


Press Trust of India Gorakhpur
Ahead of the March 11 bypolls, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will be addressing election rallies at five assembly seats during his two-day visit to Gorakhpur on February 26 and 27.

According to Satyendra Sinha, the zonal media in-charge, public meetings will be organised in five assembly seats - Gorakhpur rural, Gorakhpur urban, Sahjanwa, Pipraich and Campierganj in support of BJP candidate Upendra Datt Shukla.

"Lakhs of people are expected to attend each public meet. Booth workers have been asked to visit houses and bring the voters to rally ground in advance," Sinha said.

Besides the chief minister, senior BJP leaders, including Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, VK Singh, Keshav Prasad Maurya, will also hold rallies in support of the candidate.

Mahant Digvijaynath (of Gorakhnath Mutt) won the Gorakhpur parliamentary seat in 1967, Mahant Avaidyanath won the seat in 1989, 1991 and 1996. Yogi Adityanath has been winning the seat since 1998.

Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha constituencies were vacated by Chief Minister Adityanath and his Deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya respectively, after they became members of the UP Legislative Council.

Voting for the Lok Sabha bye-elections will be held on March 11, while counting of votes will take place on March 14.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Feb 25 2018 | 7:40 PM IST

Explore News