You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

K'taka polls: BJP leads in 51, Congress in 26 seats

Press Trust of India  |  Bengaluru 

BJP forged ahead leading in 51 seats while the ruling was leading in 26 constituencies today in the Assembly polls, according to official trends.

JD(S) was leading in two seats, official sources said, more than an hour after counting of votes in the May 12 polls began at 8 am.

was ahead in the Badami assembly constituency in north Karnataka, but trailing in Chamundeshwari in his home town Mysuru by over 11,000 votes against his main rival G T Deve Gowda of the JD(S).

The BJP's ministerial candidate, B S Yeddyurappa, was ahead in Shikaripura, and JD(S) state H D Kumaraswamy in Ramanagara.

Prominent among those trailing include ministers Ramamnatha Rai from Bantwal and H C Mahadevappa from T Narasipura, the sources said.

K S Eshwarappa from Shivamogga, senior most candidate in the electoral fray and from Sagara and the minister's son, Yatindra, from Varuna were also leading over their rivals.

A total of 222 of the 224 assembly constituencies in the state went to polls in

Polling for R R Nagar seat was deferred on account of alleged electoral malpractices while it was countermanded in Jayanagar seat following the death of the BJP candidate.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, May 15 2018. 09:40 IST