You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Kannada litterateur Shivaprakash selected for YCMOU award

Press Trust of India  |  Nashik 

H S Shivaprakash, a leading poet and playwright in Kannada, has been selected for the prestigious 'Kusumagraja Rashtriya Puraskar-2017' for his outstanding contribution in social and educational fields.

The award, constituted by the Nashik-based Yashwantrao Chavan Open University's (YCMOU's) 'Kusumagraja adhyasan' (Chair), carries a prize of Rs one lakh, a memento and a citation.

'Kusumagraj' was a pen name of noted Marathi litterateur late V V Shirwadkar, a Jnanpith awardee.

It will be presented to Shivaprakash (53) at a function to be held in the city on June 15, YCMOU Vice-Chancellor E. Vayunandan announced today.

Shivaprakash, who writes in Kannada and English languages, has nine compilations of poems in his name. He has penned 15 dramas.

Many of his poems were translated in various regional languages as well as in some European languages. He had edited 'Indian literature' of Sahitya Akademi and had also worked in Berlin's Tagore Centre (Indian consulate), YCMOU stated in a press release.

Meanwhile, Latur-based Menka Dhumale has been selected for YCMOU's 2016 'Baburao Bagul story writing award' for her book "Korda Paus".

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, June 06 2017. 21:57 IST