You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Minerva Punjab win I-League title

Press Trust of India  |  Panchukula 

FC got the better of Churchill Brothers 1-0 to win the title (2017-18) here today, concluding a season peppered with dramatic turns and unexpected twists.

scored the game's only goal in the 15th minute off a Chencho Gyeltshen assist at the

The club is only in its second season in top-flight

entered the final day's game with 32 points from 17 matches, and they were closely followed by Neroca FC, Mohun Bagan and east Bengal.

They are the second side from Punjab to win the top prize, the erstwhile JCT having won the inaugural League in 1996-17.

The loss also ensured Churchill Brothers' relegation to the second division.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, March 08 2018. 17:30 IST