You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Mumbai meet Maharashtra while Bengal pitted against Railways

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

Defending champions Mumbai are to clash with group C toppers Maharashtra in one of the four quarter finals while Bengal who beat a formidable Tamil Nadu side in their last group league match will meet Railways at the Eden Gardens.

The other two quarter finals, to be held concurrently, would see Karnataka clashing with Uttar Pradesh (match 3) at the Chinnaswamy Stadium and Punjab crossing swords with Jammu and Kashmir (match 4) at the neutral venue of Vadodara (Moti Baug ground).

The quarter final line-up was decided today by the Cricket Board following the conclusion of the league phase of the national tournament.

The BCCI also decided that the two semi finals of the tournament would be held concurrently from January 18-22 at Holkar Stadium in Indore (between winners of matches 1 and 2) and at PCA Stadium (between winners of matches 3 and 4) in Mohali.

The five-day final would be held at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium at Uppal in Hyderabad from January 29 to February 2, said BCCI secretary Sanjay Patel through a media release.

The Mumbai vs Maharashtra quarter final, the semi final at Mohali and the final would be telecast 'live'.

Dennis Smith of South Africa would be one of the field umpires in the trans-Sahyadri clash between 40-time winners Mumbai and Maharashtra, and the semi-final at Indore.

He would be travelling to India as part of the Umpire Exchange Programme between the BCCI and CSA (Cricket South Africa), Patel added.

First Published: Thu, January 02 2014. 17:57 IST