You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Nearly 25 per cent polling in J-K till 11 am

Press Trust of India  |  Jammu 

Nearly 25 per cent polling was recorded in and Lok Sabha constituencies of and Kashmir till 11 am Thursday, an said.

Lok Sabha constituency recorded 32.52 per cent voter turnout, with district registering the highest 35.91 per cent voting till 11 am, they said, adding Lok Sabha constituency registered 14.34 per cent polling till 11 am.

Voting began at 7 am in Jammu Lok Sabha constituency amid tight security and has been peaceful so far. Voters in Samba, Jammu, and districts queued up early in the morning to exercise their franchise, officials said.

The Jammu parliamentary constituency, which has the highest number of 24 candidates among all seats in the state, is spread over four districts of Jammu, Samba, and covering 20 Assembly segments.

Till 11 am, Jammu district recorded 30.57 per cent polling, 35.91 per cent, followed by district with 30.80 per cent and district registered 32.83 per cent voting, they said.

People along the LoC in Rajouri and Poonch districts too have come out to vote in large numbers.

In Lok Sabha seat, district registered the highest 19 per cent polling, followed by Bandipora with 12.63 per cent and Baramulla 11.40 per cent, while Kashmiri migrants polled 19.36 per cent votes for Baramulla seat, a said.

The Jammu Lok Sabha seat was won by BJP's Jugal Kishore in the 2014 general elections, defeating veteran by a margin of over 2.57 lakh votes.

Kishore is facing a tough contest this time as the National Conference is extending support to candidate and former Raman Bhalla, while the PDP has decided not to field any candidate from the Jammu region.

The Jammu parliamentary seat has the highest number of 20,05,730 lakh voters, including 9,64,834 women and 20 transgenders, officials said, adding 2,740 polling stations, including dozens near the LoC and the International Border (IB), have been set up for the polling.

Baramulla constituency will have a first-time parliamentarian in the Lok Sabha as none of the nine candidates in the fray have earlier been elected to either Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha.

PPD stalwart had won the 2014 Lok Sabha election from Baramulla constituency but he chose not to seek re-election this time. Baig had defeated his nearest rival of National Conference by a margin of 29,219 votes.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, April 11 2019. 13:55 IST