You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Perera, Tharani share spoils on Day 2 of JK Tyre National Racing Round 1

Press Trust of India  |  Coimbatore 

Sri Lankan Bryan revelled in the rain, winning two races in the elite class as round one of the 21st FMSCI National Racing Championship concluded here today.

Tharani, who had won the only Euro JK 18 race held on Saturday, made a valiant comeback in the fourth and final race to catch up with in the drivers' standings.

Mumbai's stayed right behind the leaders by making the podium thrice on Sunday, grabbing the second place twice and the third place once. Another Chennai racer, Ashwin Datta, enjoyed a good run, finishing second in Race 4 and third in Race 2 and 3.

recorded the day's fastest lap in Race 3, taking just 1:00.279 minutes in his Euro JK 18 car.

The LGB 4 too proved to be a tantalising affair, with Delhi's and Chennai's Raghul Rangsamy winning one race each. Chennai's had won Race 1 on Saturday, to produce three different winners over the weekend.

Vishnu and Kolhapur's Chittesh Mandody took the second and third places in both the races to pick up valuable points.

In the Gixxer Cup, continued his imperious run, remaining unbeaten over this weekend too. He finished the 10 laps in 14:16.799 minutes, recording his quickest time of 1:23.411 minutes in Lap 6 for his second straight victory.

and Malsawmdawngliana (Aizawl), who finished third and second last evening, swapped places in Race 2 to finish on the same number of points.


Euro JK 18, Race 2: 1. (Sri Lanka, 14:15.491); 2. (Mumbai, 14:17,261); 3. (Chennai, 14:23.294)

Euro JK 18, Race 3: 1. (Sri Lanka, 14:15.491); 2. (Mumbai, 15:26.377); 3. (Chennai, 15:29.942)

Euro JK 18, Race 4: 1. Karthik Tharani (Chennai, 15:33.789); 2. (Chennai, 15:34.334); Nayan Chatterjee (Mumbai, 15:34.403)

LGB 4, Race 2: 1. Raghul Rangasamy (MSport; 21:56.544); Chittesh Mandody (Kolhapur, 21:57.698); 3. (MSport; 18:03844)

LGB 4, Race 3: 1. (Dark Don, 16:56.965); 2. Chittesh Mandody (Kolhapur, 16:59.249); 3. (MSport; 17:02.297)

Gixxer Cup, Race 2: 1. (Chennai; 14:16.799), 2. Syed Muzamil Ali (Bengaluru; 14:18.749); 3. Malsawmdawngliana (Aizawl; 14:19.122)

Red Bull Rookie, Race 2: 1. Zothanmawia (Aizawl; 14:36.129), 2. (Mizoram; 15:04.514); 3. (Aizawl; 15:13.479).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, July 08 2018. 16:55 IST