You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Rakesh Singh, Rashmi Kumari crowned champions

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

World champion Rashmi Kumari of Petroleum Sports Promotion Board and L Rakesh Singh of Air India won the men's and women's titles in the 17th Inter-Institution National Carrom Championship here today.

Rakesh exhibited plenty of resilience and fighting qualities to overcome the strong challenge of Anil Mundhe of Jain Irrigation 25-16 25-22 to annex the men's title.

In the semifinals, Rakesh overcame his teammate and world no. 4 Riyaz Akbar Ali of Air India in straight games 25-0 25-9, while Mundhe downed Prashant More of Reserve Bank Of India 25-18 25-20.

Ali defeated More in a thrilling encounter 25-22 20-25 25-21 to finish third.

In the women's final, national champion Rashmi Kumari got the better of teammate S IIavazhaki 25-10 25-14 to claim the title.

Earlier, in the semifinals Rashmi prevailed over former world and national champion S Apoorva of LIC Of India in straight games 25-8 25-12, while former world and national Champion IIavazhaki encountered stiff resistance before getting past Dipika Sinha of LIC 25-14 4-25 25-10.

Apoorva finished third by outgunning Dipika 25-20 16-25 25-22 in the placings contest.

The tournament was organised by the All India Carrom Federation, hosted by the Marashtra Carrom Association and sponsored by Bank Of Maharashtra.

First Published: Wed, August 12 2015. 17:48 IST