You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Results of 20 Assembly seats challenged in Gujarat HC

Press Trust of India  |  Ahmedabad 

Election results of 20 Assembly constituencies in have been challenged before the High Court by losing candidates, who have filed separate election petitions.

to the 182-member Assembly were held in December last year.

Election petitions have been filed with regard to Jamalpur-Khadia, Patan, Gandhinagar (N), Botad, Dholka, Himmatnagar, Varachha Road, Limbayat, Gariyadhar, Godhra, Danilimda, Prantij, Santrampur, Mandvi, Porbandar, Vagra, Martar, Dabhoi, Kamrej and Devbhoomi Dwarka seats.

candidates had won from four of these seats, while the rest went to the BJP.

Petitioners have raised various issues, including use of "faulty" electronic voting machines (EVMs) to challenge the outcome.

They have demanded cancellation of election results and fresh

Some of these constituencies are now represented by ruling BJP's senior leaders like (Dholka), (Botad) and (Porbandar).

In Dholka, where Chudasama won, postal ballots were not counted, claims the petition filed by Congress's Ashvin Rathod who lost by a thin margin.

The petitions would come up for hearing in the coming days, court sources said.

BJP retained power in Gujarat, winning 99 seats, while and its allies clinched 81.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, February 08 2018. 22:25 IST