You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Seven candidates in fray for bypoll to Palghar Lok Sabha seat

Press Trust of India  |  Palghar 

A total of seven candidates, including nominees of the Shiv Sena, the BJP and the Congress, are left in the fray for the May 28 bypoll to the Lok Sabha constituency.

Today was the last day of withdrawal of nomination papers by candidates.

After the scrutiny of papers, nine candidates remained in fray out of which two - both Independents - withdrew their nominations, office said.

The seven candidates left in the fray are Srinivas Wanga (Shiv Sena), (BJP), Damoo Shingada (Congress), Baliram Jadhav (Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi), Kiran Gahala (CPI-M), (Marxist Leninist Party of India) and (Independent).

The bypoll has been necessiated due to the death of sitting His son later joined the Shiv Sena, which fielded him from the Scheduled Tribe-reserved seat located adjoining

The BJP has fielded Gavit, a former leader and minister, who joined the party last week.

Shingada and Jadhav are former MPs.

Though there are seven candidates, the main fight is likely to be between Wanga and Gavit.

However, votes polled by Jadhav and Shingada will also be crucial in determining the outcome of the bypoll, result of which will be known on May 31.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, May 14 2018. 18:55 IST